1992 480ES - no MOT since 2017. Thoughts?

Cleaned up the garage, found parts laying around, but it turned out to be a complete Volvo 480? If you want to sell your car (480 only) you can place an advert here.

Moderators: jifflemon, coyote1980, Rachel

Rangi
480 Newbie

1992 480ES - no MOT since 2017. Thoughts?

Post by Rangi » Sun Dec 19, 2021 7:57 pm

Hi all,

I'm looking at buying my first 480 as I've had a bit of a soft spot for one for many years.

I've seen this advertised https://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C1410709

Let me know your thoughts? I've got limited experience working on vehicles - I've recently been restoring an old VW T25 but want to avoid welding where possible.

Spoken to the chap and seems to run well, nothing noticeably wrong other than Speedo. Only thing that concerns me is perhaps rust in the wheel arch on one of the photos and obviously not being driven or MOT'd for 4 years there will definitely be things needing work on.

Just want a bit of friendly advice where possible!
Thanks all,
James

WillC9303
Knows an Aerodeck isn't a 480

Re: 1992 480ES - no MOT since 2017. Thoughts?

Post by WillC9303 » Sun Dec 19, 2021 8:50 pm

Hi Rangi,

£650 is certainly quite cheap, even for a 480.
The wheel arch is a little concerning, as it isn't just the lower part where it meets the sill, but is also at the top. Who knows what horrors lay under there. If the arch is too far gone, you can get replacement wheel arch sections from Skandix for £250 I believe. The other side looks good though.

The other thing I noticed is that the rear lights are cracked at the top of them, and they are quite expensive to replace. They also look like they've been sealed up, which isn't a great sign either. They're not too bad though, and they could probably clean up quite nicely with a bit of T-cut and polish.