Novice 480s

Here you can start a thread about your 480 days. Only the starter of the thread is allowed to fill his thread, and only one thread per person. Threads are simply a personal diary.

Moderators: jifflemon, coyote1980, Rachel

Cjchefy
480 Newbie

Novice 480s

Post by Cjchefy » Tue May 15, 2018 3:15 pm

Hey all

Thought I should stick a post on. Joined back in November and I am new to the world of 480’s that was until last March when I managed to pick up a 1993 red 480s Car had the usual rust round the rear wheel arches and bottom of driver door but nothing to terminal or bad. Some things worked others didn’t and it only had 87000 miles. All I got was the car and 2 keys the boot was empty not even a carpet or spare wheel lol no service history or even handbook but for £200 I thought why not.
To begin with removed both bumpers to get a look at the body, carried out all body work myself all surface rust and no holes to speak of sorted it all out and have painted it but it’s not perfect and will need more work.
Next was the passenger window didn’t work so was able to source a second hand replacement fitted and now works. The Ariel didn’t go up or down and none of the interior lights worked. So took out the Ariel and tested and it didn’t appear to work so ordered a replacement and fitted but still didn’t work so I left it and moved on to the mechanical side of things.
Had to replace both rear Brake caliper’s, pads and disc’s fronts were ok. Replaced the timing belt and aux belt along with new fluids throughout oil and air filter with new spark plugs.
I went back to look at the Ariel problem, checked the fuse and it was fine so did a bit of digging and found that Ariel and interior lights work of the same fuse but all the fuse’s were ok so I did some more reading and put a 20amp fuse in the front fog lights (car doesn’t have front frogs) and to my amazement it all works 😂.