Finally found one.

Here you can start a thread about your 480 days. Only the starter of the thread is allowed to fill his thread, and only one thread per person. Threads are simply a personal diary.

Moderators: jifflemon, coyote1980, Rachel

theofc3s
480 Newbie

Finally found one.

Post by theofc3s » Tue Mar 17, 2015 11:13 pm

As you can probably imagine i'm new here.

So for the past couple of years the 480 has been at the top of my wanted project car list and I finally got one 3 weeks ago. Already some family and friends have made the odd joke about me being 19 years old and having a Volvo 30 years too young but they all still love the look and are looking forward to seeing it on the road.

The cars a 1992 480S in black and in need of a good few bits of work. The plan is to restore her slowly over the next 6 to 8 months i work as an apprentice automotive restorer (hence the slow as £102 a week doesn't buy you a lot of parts unless parts come before food and heating) but i'll be able to drive one of the cars i dreamed of owning at a young age (i'll have insurance to deal with but i'll deal with that when it comes to it).

The car was a definition of a barn find (quite literally in a barn luckily dry) last owner bought it brand new in 1992 and kept every bit of history its done 93000 and did i mention that it sat in that barn for 8 years? 8 long years it stood all i did was put a battery in turn the key and the little bugger started first time apparently it had been started every couple of months which tells me every 6 months by the way she said it. The brakes were a little stuck on but got moving with a little revving all it needs to go back on the road is the brakes, exhaust, mirror and indicator. underneath is completely solid which means only one bit of welding for me to do on the back arch not bad for £250.