Some seemingly random questions

Here you can talk about the joy owning a Volvo 480 brings. Non-technical discussions take place here, like what is the difference between an ES and a S version.

Moderators: jifflemon, coyote1980, Rachel

WillC9303
Knows an Aerodeck isn't a 480

Some seemingly random questions

Post by WillC9303 » Fri Mar 25, 2022 4:23 pm

Hello everyone,

Because I'm still quite new to 480s (cars in general for that matter) I have a bunch of questions that I've been wanting to ask that all all pretty unrelated to each other but I thought I'd put them all here so I don't spam the forum with a bunch of rando questions.
  • How do I find the date of manufacture on my car? (Not the date of first registration as I already know that.)
  • How come only the very first and very last 480s came with the digital clock? I was recently offered one for a few euros, but don't know if they were just a really rare optional extra? I can understand if Volvo dropped it for cost reasons, but then they brought it back again towards end of production.
  • My headlining is drooping in the boot area. Can it be fixed or is it easier and cheaper to buy a another one?
  • I was reading about a recall for the early 2.0 cars (which I think mine is) and that they were refitted with a green dipstick model. Yet mine has a red dipstick...?
  • My gauge cluster has started to degrade and is peeling apart. Is this easy to fix?
  • My rear window washer isn't working. The washer bottle pump works fine and there doesn't seem to be a blockage at the other end. Is this a common problem?
  • What is the purpose of the switch next to the heated seat buttons? I understand it is to turn the long range lights off, but why would you want to do that? Would would be the point of turning it off?
  • Was the intruder alarm an optional extra? And would it be easy to fit a different coloured flashing LED instead? Weird mod, I know, but I want to fit a blue or purple one :D