Scrap or restore? Honest opinions needed!

Here you can talk about the joy owning a Volvo 480 brings. Non-technical discussions take place here, like what is the difference between an ES and a S version.

Moderators: jifflemon, coyote1980, Rachel

alfie12
480 Newbie

Scrap or restore? Honest opinions needed!

Post by alfie12 » Fri Nov 13, 2020 11:07 am

Hi guys,

I'm new to the 480 owners club having just bought a 1989 1.7 ES in dire need of restoration. Knowing the 480 are decreasing in numbers each year I took a very questionable move of buying one blind of Ebay for a couple hundred pounds... and after it was trailered to me I am beginging to question my decision (holt the I told you so's!). So I thought I'd get the opinion of experienced 480 owners on what you'd do with it!

Quick background, believe it has been stood for 10 years or so in the elements so understandably the body has suffered. I know the leaky boot and clogged engine-bay drain holes are known to cause problems with water getting into the cabin but my god the thing was flooded when I got it. I've been pulling out the carpets which has revealed significant holes in the floor pan. I have attached pictures of the ones in the boot, there is also one hole on each rear foot well due to most of the water pooling here (yes I do mean pooling). I'm working on getting the entire carpet out but the front seat rails have rusted so the seats are stuck in position, although the penetrating fluid is certainly working!

As for the engine, that's next to investigate, although first impressions aren't great. I'm going to see if the engine will turn over manually first, but all pulleys are coated in rust (hopefully just surface) but makes me question if the engine may have seized altogether. There is oil in the engine so it's not been left dry, however the bone-dry coolant reservoir does worry me slightly. I have a tool on order to check the spark plugs.