Need amp...

Here you can post things about ICE (In Car Entertainment). Like how to install GPS navigation, a DVD-player and other yuppie-stuff. This category might be moved to "those other things" in the end...

Moderators: jifflemon, coyote1980, Rachel

esta
480 Is my middle name

Need amp...

Post by esta » Sat Sep 15, 2007 7:43 pm

Hi

I am currently looking for an amp for a pair of 6x9s i was bought as a present.

Im looking for something powerful but cheap (im a meer student ;) ) my 6x9s are 500w each so im not looking for an amp with 500 or less.

Also...according to this websites accessories there are 3 amplifiers that are (or were...) avialable:

Are they still available? and what prices? and where from?

Are they any good?

Thanks all ;)
[img]http://i118.photobucket.com/albums/o100/estamace/logo.jpg[/img]

There are a number of mechanical devices which increase sexual arousal, particularly in women. Chief among these is the Volvo 480 ;)

WANT: 480 GT-Turbo & Jaguar XJR-S
HAVE: Jaguar XJ40 4l Sov
HAD: 480 GT (Lula) & 480 ES (Lulu), Mk4 XR3i (Wall*E), Rover 416i (Junior-R.I.P. bud), X2 (Percy) & Tahiti (Tati)

www.projectjaguar.co.uk

Dan the 480 Man
480 Is my middle name

Re: Need amp...

Post by Dan the 480 Man » Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:41 pm

esta wrote: my 6x9s are 500w each
:shock:

Bloody hell, thats massive! Whats the RMS wattage of those? If you look in the booklet or on the box, it will tell you the RMS of those. Generally manufacturers tend to over-inflate the power. The 500w is probably the best it will perform in certain conditions at certain levels etc.

I had a 500w sub in my first 440-the actual RMS was about 200w. If you're looking for a 500w amp though, these work the same. You want the actual RMS figure. You don't want an Amp that is more powerful than your speakers-it will blow them!