Ignition Off, Daylight Running Lights Staying On

From CEM to VEM, from LED to lightbulb and more. If you have an electrical problem, like a broken info-centre, search for answers in this category. This is also the place to be when you expect the problem to be of an electrical nature...

Moderators: jifflemon, coyote1980, Rachel

Xedra
480 Newbie

Ignition Off, Daylight Running Lights Staying On

Post by Xedra » Wed Mar 02, 2022 12:48 am

Hi all!

I've just bought an '89 480 ES, and I must stress I'm completely new to the car so still rather unfamiliar with the cockpit and how everything works. Picked up the car this evening and all seemed well (couple of other small problems but nothing too major). Went inside and all was off then returned a few hours later to find the DRLs on. Tried the ignition and it struggled, but started, then tried the different headlight options and switches that I could identify (like I say, totally new to the car) but no matter what I tried the DRLs remained illuminated when the car was totally switched off.

The battery is drained now and the car no longer starts. Have I missed something really obvious or is there a fault somewhere that is keeping the lights on while the car is switched off. Like, could the fuel filler cap being open or an open door keep these lights on?

Unfortunately this turn of events has soured the day of the purchase a little. I don't have much mechanical experience with cars, so not sure how to proceed. Also, just to note, this is a left-hand drive car as I live in Belgium.

Thanks for any help and guidance!
1989 480 ES

jamescarruthers
480 Is my middle name

Re: Ignition Off, Daylight Running Lights Staying On

Post by jamescarruthers » Wed Mar 02, 2022 9:58 am