Instrument cluster/speedometer repairs

From CEM to VEM, from LED to lightbulb and more. If you have an electrical problem, like a broken info-centre, search for answers in this category. This is also the place to be when you expect the problem to be of an electrical nature...

Moderators: jifflemon, coyote1980, Rachel

brinkie
480 Connoisseur

Instrument cluster/speedometer repairs

Post by brinkie » Mon May 02, 2016 1:12 pm

As it seems one of the most niggling faults in the 480, I am offering an instrument cluster repair service. I have a degree in electronics engineering, but my daytime job moved into another direction, so consider me a hobbyist with professional background.

Things I can repair, and how I will do it:
- erratic behaviour of the speedometer or no working speedometer at all; properly soldering the connector pins to instrument board and/or repairing the connectors (not a botch job as I have seen too often!)
- stopped odometer; replacing the cog wheel and/or repairing the stepper motor
- faulty info centre display; tightening the connectors to the display and the Zebra strip inside the display
- burnt or blackened bulbs; replacing them with brand new ones
- wrong info centre readings; checking the version and engine selection of the info centre board and if needed, changing the board
- combining two units into one working unit, with the correct mileage

I have test equipment to check all functions and I have the original Volvo documentation. Also, I know how to work on sensitive electronics, which is usually beyond the knowledge of the average mechanic (which is OK, I know virtually nothing about engines, mechanics and body work :lol: )

I have almost all spares including new cog wheels. I do not have spares for the UK speedometer and odometer electronic boards - I only have the metric units and face plates unless someone is willing to supply me the specific UK stuff. But I rarely need to exchange parts, only if things are really broken.