Ticking noise from engine

All the information you need on engine-problems is here. The engine includes the Turbo-charger, airco and everything else you'll find under the bonnet.

Moderators: jifflemon, coyote1980, Rachel

Swanny
Started learning about 480

Ticking noise from engine

Post by Swanny » Sun Feb 15, 2015 7:44 pm

Hi all, I'm new to 480 ownership and am thoroughly enjoying the challenges it throws at me.

I've had my G-reg Turbo for 6 months and I've had endless questions to ask the forum but I persevered and found most of the answers in old posts. However, I noticed a ticking sound from the engine when I rev in or out of gear that has been there since I bought the car. It sounds like it's in time with cylinders firing so I'm guessing it could be valves. Has anyone experienced this problem and if so, how can I fix it? I can post a video if that would help.

Also, while I'm at it, I know this is very broad question, but are there any basic things I should be looking at/doing for good measure? I've replaced distributor, rotor, plugs and have HT leads on way. I've had a lumpy idle and stuttering when I dip clutch when braking and revs drop off to around 4/500 RPM. I've cleaned out the ICV but didn't have much effect.

Any general tips or pointers would be appreciated. I've never got to involved with engines before but I really want to understand this car and keep it in good shape since it's got such character and is so rare.

Thanks,

Swanny.
480 Turbo S/R 'Matilda' - '89 red - Norfolk

gsa60

Re: Ticking noise from engine

Post by gsa60 » Sun Feb 15, 2015 10:07 pm

Hi Swanny,

I'm not sure about the tiking sound.
As for your second issue, I don't relay understand what you meant for " when I dip clutch when braking " ( English's not my mother language).
Do you mean that the revs stay at around 400~500 RPM until you press the gas pedal?