B18F starting problem, stalling.

All the information you need on engine-problems is here. The engine includes the Turbo-charger, airco and everything else you'll find under the bonnet.

Moderators: jifflemon, coyote1980, Rachel

Cesinek
480 Newbie

B18F starting problem, stalling.

Post by Cesinek » Thu Mar 13, 2014 9:23 am

Hi there.
Please, excuse my cubersome English, I will try to describe my problem as good as possible.
I own a 1987 480ES, with B18F engine (1,7i, non turbo, 70 kW). I bought the car in may 2013, and it was running pretty well until now. There are some slight problems like high fuel consumption and a bit unsteady idle, but overall the car was working good.
Two days ago, I went to work for a night shift, parked the car and left. Yesterday morning, the car had problems starting. After a much longer canking, it started and a second later it stopped. I stated investigating (I am by no means an engineer, and my knowledge about engines is fairly basic). The symptoms are as follows.
When I start the engine, it dies instantly. Takes a long time to start as well.
When I disconnect the MAF sensor, car starts fine, idles around 1000rpms, pretty smooth. As soon as I touch the trottle, the car stalls instantly.
When I disconnect the MAF sensor, the coolant temp. sensor and the throttle position sensor, the car starts, and when the throttle is applied, it sometimes stalls, and sometimes revs up pretty "normal". Actually, I was able to get back home like this, feeling like a total idiot, as the car would stall every now and then. Generally, in first gear it got to revs normally, when shifting up, it sometimes went normally, sometimes it felt as if it lost power completely (engine still running at low revs, no reaction to gas). Shiftig back to fist sometimes helped, sometimes the engine just stopped after a while.

So, that is my story. Colud you point me in some direction? What to test, what to measure?
Will gladly provide any more information if needed.